the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

M is for Monster Manners

on November 30, 2012

This week I combined fun monster themed activities and crafts with a refresher course in manners! My inspiration came from this Monster Manners game . . .

Monster Manners file folder game

My two little monsters really loved this game. Afterwards, I gave them each a jar labelled “Monster Manners” and explained that every time I hear them using good manners I would put a token in it and at the end of the day, they could trade them in for a treat (like marshmallows). I caught Joseph tampering with his a little 😉

Joseph putting tokens in his “manners” jar

We also read lots of manners books . . .

As for monster activities, www.1plus1plus1equals1.net has really great monsters printables, but I only printed a few of the pages. Here is Joseph spelling his name . . .

. . . and a monster match game . . .

And Jorja did some monster math – fractions with Mikey!

Some other activities included sorting M&M’s and money in mini muffin tins. (Also be sure to make some mini muffins after reading If You Give a Moose a Muffin.)

And some fun monster crafts, mostly inspired by this site . . .

paint blob monster

play dough monsters

tp roll monster family

It’s now Friday afternoon, -20C/0F outside, and the kids are eating monster cookies and watching the movie Monsters Inc. (Well, actually I made them eat their cookies at the table first because that’s just the kind of mom I am – once when I asked Joseph what he’s going to do when he grows up he actually said, “Eat on the couch like Daddy.”) All in all, I’d have to say monster manners was a big hit, and the best part – my two little monsters now say “Thanks for dinner, Mom” at the end of each meal, ask to be excused and then clear their dishes from the table 🙂

Purple – by Jorja
 
Purple is a violet
Purple is a crayon
Purple is nail polish
Purple tastes like a juicy grape
Purple smells like plums
Purple feels like a soft bath robe
Purple looks like a sparkly jewel
Purple is my favorite color!
6 responses to “M is for Monster Manners

  1. mommadaise says:

    Love your letter activities… Still wrapping up ours, hopefully we”ll be able to start next week with the rest of the letters!

  2. Oh, what a cute idea! I love this!

  3. jennifermaki says:

    Superb ideas here. Thank you for sharing all the details and links!! j

  4. Shannon says:

    Cute, cute! Fun, fun! :))) Love the couch comment! Ha ha! And what an amazing poem! Precious!

Leave a Reply

