the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

P is for Pirate

on December 21, 2012

Arrrr! I decided to kick off pirate week with a treasure map leading to a hidden pirate treasure . . .

pirate treasure chest

pirate treasure chest

Most of the treasures were coins, tokens, jewels and jewelry that I gathered from around the house, but I found the pirate kaleidoscopes and some Tinkerbell figurines at the toy store and added them for a special surprise. They loved their ‘treasures’ and Joseph especially enjoyed hunting for the chest and rediscovering the treasures over and over. Much pirate pretend play ensued over the next several days 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are tons of free pirate printables out there and I’m sorry I don’t have the links this week, but here is a fun pirate board game that the kids enjoyed playing throughout the week . . .

pirate treasure game

pirate treasure game

And a pirate puzzle that helped Joseph work on number sequencing while making a fun picture . . .

pirate puzzle

pirate puzzle

And pirate clip cards that kept him busy counting and clipping – so good for developing fine motor skills and hand-eye coordination . . . and for keeping him out of my hair long enough to do language, math or science with Jorja 😉

pirate clip cards

pirate clip cards

And some of our crafts . . .

Itsy Bitsy Pirate Book

Itsy Bitsy Pirate Book

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

paper plate pirate

paper plate pirate

Finishing off the week with some popcorn and watching Peter Pan 🙂

This was another one of those weeks when our memory verse required much explanation and teaching . . . Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes ~ Ephesians 6:11. Naturally we had to discuss what “the armor of God” is. Quite an abstract and deep concept for little minds but I did my best to explain how the devil tries to trick us with lies and that’s why it’s important for us to learn and memorize scripture so that we’ll recognize his lies and be able to defeat him with God’s truth. I had them paint these pictures for a visual reminder . . .

armor of God

armor of God

Since my posts generally focus on the preschool side of things with the letter of the week theme, I’ll just take a minute to give an update on Jorja’s progress with Kindergarten. Her printing and spelling have improved a lot and we have started playing hangman and some other games with her spelling words to help her learn them. And I registered her online for XtraMath which is helping her memorize and get faster at addition facts. It only takes about 5 minutes each session and I have her do it about 3 times/week. And this week Jorja took an interest in learning cursive, so as per her request, we started learning some cursive writing . . . she is so excited about it and is actually really good at it. She has just learned 5 letters so far. I hope her enthusiasm persists!

Have a blessed Christmas!

 

3 responses to “P is for Pirate

  1. straderspiel says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love how many activities you are doing. I am always so in awe of those that can do crafts!

  2. ivypburgos says:

    I love your themed learning weeks! I can’t wait to do some of these things with my little guy.

Leave a Reply

