the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

Q is for Quilt

on January 4, 2013

I wasn’t going to choose quilts for our theme this week because, well, I guess I imagined that doing “Q is for Quilt” would mean I’d have to sew something (like do a quilting project with my kids or some such way-out-of-my-league project) . . . and I don’t sew. Period.  But as I googled the idea, I  found some fun resources here and realized it could be a great opportunity to focus on shapes, colors and patterns. Joseph enjoyed doing this quilt pattern match game . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this Q is for Quilt magnet activity was a big hit with both kids all throughout the week – I will definitely be looking for more of these for future themes! (How have I not seen these before?!)

magnet activity

magnet activity

We glued patterned paper squares on our “Qq” poster to make a quilted Q . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next day we used the left-over squares to make patterns (AB, AAB. AABB, ABC, etc.), then we glued them on paper to make a quilt – in the end, they didn’t follow any kind of pattern but just glued the squares on randomly – oh well!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another day we learned about hexagons and then made this quilt paper craft . . .

quilt paper craft with hexagon shapes

quilt paper craft with hexagon shapes

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And lastly, Q-tip painting 🙂

Q-tip painting

Q-tip painting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our verse this week was both easy and difficult. Easy because it was so short ~ Quench not the Spirit. But difficult to explain. I used some candles to demonstrate how we can quench or put out a fire or flame. Then we talked about how when we don’t listen to God’s Spirit, or when we do bad things, that’s like quenching the Spirit’s flame. I’m not saying they totally ‘get it’ but I can’t tell you how many times this week I have heard Jorja saying, Joseph! You’re quenching the Spirit! when he’s doing something wrong (ie. something that bothers her). LOL. Admittedly, I quenched the Spirit more than once this week, myself, so I guess this verse held a good lesson and reminder for us all!

And lastly, our Bibleless people group of the week – the Quechua of Peru – was especially interesting because Mimi & Papa have been on some trips to Peru and just recently for Christmas they sent the kids each a stuffed llama as a representation of the real llamas that they donated to Quechua families. We even got to watch a DVD of Mimi & Papa in Peru with their team, doing a variety of outreach projects. Talking about Mimi and Papa’s experience and how they’re trying to help the Quechua people learn about God’s love was so much more meaningful than anything we could have read in a book. We also watched an online video about llamas to learn more about them – one of the things we learned is how smart llamas are and how easy they are to train . . . well, this morning Jorja actually told Joseph that llamas are smarter than him! LOL. Poor guy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 responses to “Q is for Quilt

  1. beansterblog says:

    I went to Peru several years ago on a mission trip to Arequipa. It was the best trip I’d taken. We spent a week there building a church, well, part of it. I’d been on other trips, but this one still rings so clear in my memory. I love the reference to the Quechua people. They had an amazing language! Thanks for incorporating Peru into your lessons!

    • Wow, that’s really cool! We are really enjoying learning about people all around the world and I really hope it helps my children to appreciate what they have (both materially and spiritually) and that they will grow to have a heart for the unreached. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment 🙂

  2. signedpenny says:

    I really enjoyed your home school page. Although I’ve homeschooled off and on for years. I have six children and now my little ones are ages 4, 8, and 11 I am home schooling again. I put them in public school for the past year after homeschooling them and once again we were disappointed and with drew them today. We have a great group of home school kids here in my town and a great support group, honestly I enjoy the interaction with other home school adults it helps me and the kids love the group of kids, field trips and art we all do together.

    • Sorry to hear that the public school didn’t live up to your hopes or expectations but I admire that you recognized that your children’s needs weren’t being met and decided to do something about it! I wish I had more of a homeschool support group – other families close by to have get-togethers and go on field trips . . . I think that not having that social/support group is what made blogging so appealing to me when I started – I’ve learned a lot and been very encouraged by what others are posting and sharing. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

