the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

T is for Train

on January 25, 2013

This week was full of train activities – we set up our track and played trains – Jorja even dressed up like a conductor . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But we also used trains to learn about patterns, shapes, and even forming words. Here is Joseph making train patterns, using the train cars from the story Freight Train by Donald Crews.

Freight Train patterns

Freight Train patterns

And here is a fun shape train for sorting shapes and learning their names . . .

Shape Train

Shape Train

Joseph was given this wonderful alphabet train for his birthday last year and we used it a lot this week! Here he has spelled his name . . .

Alphabet Train

Alphabet Train

Joseph is really catching on to the sounds of each letter and recognizing the sounds in words . . . so many times this week he would hear the sound of “T” in a word and then tell me excitedly, “Mommy, mommy, hat starts with T!” Well, it actually ends with T, but still, he was hearing and noticing it. I decided to introduce him to some very basic word forming . . . we started with the word hat, sounding out each letter and trying to show him how the individual sounds make up a word when you blend them all together . . . I was using flashcard letters, so then I took away the H and replaced it with a P and showed him how it made the word pat, then we kept going with fat, sat, and mat. Then I took away the first letter, leaving just at, and asked him to pick the letter we need to make the word hat or fat or pat, etc. And I was so impressed that he could do it! To make it fun and keep his interest as we were going, I had him make the words with his train letters too! He was so proud of himself that he had to call up Daddy at work to tell him that he read a word 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are the train crafts we did:

Shape Train

Shape Train

Shape Train

Shape Train

Egg Carton Train

Egg Carton Train

The idea for this fingerprint train to go along with the story Freight Train by Donald Crews is from this site.

fingerprint train craft

fingerprint train craft

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

toilet paper roll train craft

toilet paper roll train craft

Joseph playing with his train craft

Joseph playing with his train craft

Train Track Painting

Train Track Painting

Jorja loves Bible time and is always eager to learn more . . . she asks a lot questions – good ones too, like Why did God put the forbidden tree in the garden? She tries hard to understand even deep concepts – she won’t let something slip past or just let it go if she doesn’t understand – she’ll keep asking over and over and rephrasing the question until she is satisfied with the answer. But of course, she is only 5, so sometimes her take on the Bible is slightly off kilter and can be quite humorous. She had me in stitches on Monday when I introduced our Bible verse, Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding ~Prov 3:5. As I was trying to explain about trusting in God and not thinking that we know everything, but rather God knows much more and so we have to trust Him, etc. Jorja interrupted to tell me, “The boy in my class (Mongolian Kindergarten) just leaned on his own understanding – he understanded that he should show me his wee-wee!” (yes, this actually happened a couple of months ago and I talked to her teacher about it at the time. She’s still mad at him. LOL). Joseph had a hard time with the verse this week too – his rendering of it goes like this, “Don’t understand yourself”. Aaah well, better luck next week I guess!

7 responses to “T is for Train

  1. I love the Freight Train craft! We may have to try that one! Thanks for sharing!

    • Yeah, it’s cute. If you’re going to try it, you should check out the link because I’m not sure our version really did it justice – she did a much better job and had her kids added a lot more detail – depends how old the kids are I guess. Have fun!

  2. The questions get even harder! Ha! There have been times that I’ve actually had to say, “Let’s ask Dad when he gets home!” 🙂

  3. Kristy-Lee says:

    Brilliant – Love it 🙂

  4. signedpenny says:

    I always feel so encouraged by your home school photo’s. I just posted one of my 4 year old’s A art today. You make learning look like so much fun. I am so thankful for the home school group we have here in my town. We had 21 kids at Art yesterday at the Library. That isn’t all the home school kids in my town though. That is a small amount and I live in a very small town. So, more and more people are choosing this alternative. I am wanting to do a fun and exciting thing with my kids. I want to make a character that they can send in an envelope all over, have people take pictures with the character having fun, doing adventures or being home schooled with their kids. Then send the flat piece of paper (or character) back with photo’s of his adventure. Would you like to do this. I would be glad to do it for you, if you want to have your children send me a cut out character and I will take photo’s of my kids with it, I live in Florida so I can take a picture in front of an orange tree or something and send it back. I think it will give the kids something fun to look forward to do. Le me know. You can email me at signedpenny@yahoo.com or just go to my blog.

    • Thank you so much for your encouragement. I wish I had a group of other homeschoolers to socialize with and join for classes and field trips. It’s great that you have that! I’ll email you about the character – I think it’s a terrific idea and I’d love to help you out with it.

Leave a Reply

