the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

U is for Umbrella

on February 1, 2013

I have to admit, we slacked off a bit this week. Reasons include (but are not limited to) me getting a cold early in the week, Joseph throwing up one day, and the best reason of all . . . getting ready for VACATION!!! In addition to the standard vacation prep – laundry and packing – I also felt compelled to do deep cleaning (like cleaning out the entire refrigerator), reorganize, and purge all clutter. And by clutter I mean all those cute little crafts you’ve been oooh-ing and ahhh-ing over (or rolling your eyes at) for the past several months. So I decided that egg carton caterpillars, cotton ball igloos and salt-dough dinosaur fossils have a shelf life of 5 months max. I just hope that when we get back the kids won’t notice or actually ask me, “Mom, where’s my toilet paper roll octopus???” LOL.

So, back to U week . . . here are some of the books we read:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thanks to “Great Day for UP”, Joseph learned to read the word “UP” and very eagerly pointed it out on each page. Afterwards, I used flashcards with him again to form words like up, cup, pup, sup, etc.

“Mandy’s Umbrella” is a cute little story that we’d never read before (I try really hard to find books that are new to the kids for our theme each week but sometimes that’s really hard to do – we’ve just about exhausted the selection at our small library). Anyway, it was perfect for our theme this week. At the end of the story, Mandy (a mouse) uses her umbrella as a boat to get across a large puddle at the entrance to her house, so I got the idea to make these little egg carton ‘umbrellas’ and let the kids play with them like boats in a tub of water . . .

egg carton umbrella boats

egg carton umbrella boats

I cut out an umbrella shape from some scrapbook paper, punched holes around the edges, attached a popsicle stick and voilaumbrella lacing 🙂

umbrella lacing

umbrella lacing

When I said we slacked off a little I wasn’t talking about crafts – that’s the fun part, after all! (It was the important stuff like math and science that took a hit.) So, as I was saying, U crafts . . .

Letter U

Letter U

The next craft is super cute and super easy too . . . just fold cupcake liners in half and make pipe cleaner handles, add some rain (or not – Jorja decided not to because hers is an umbrella store)

cupcake liner umbrellas

cupcake liner umbrellas

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another easy one . . . just cut out circles and boots . . . looks like kids walking along in the rain. Jorja wanted her boots to match the umbrellas 🙂

walkin' in the rain

walkin’ in the rain

walkin' in the rain - girlie girl style

walkin’ in the rain – girlie girl style

Here are some umbrella file folder games we did . . . the first one is matching uppercase/lowercase U raindrops to the correct umbrella . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next one is matching the correct number of raindrops to the umbrella with the corresponding number . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And lastly, Roll-A-Raindrop. For this game you just roll a ‘dice’ then place a raindrop on the corresponding number – you can find it here.

Roll-A-Raindrop

Roll-A-Raindrop

I just know someone is going to ask, “Oh, that’s nice – where are you going for your vacation?” . . . but before I tell you, just so you don’t judge . . . I’m going to show you a picture I took of myself this morning after a 5 minute walk to the post office, to give you an idea of how cold it is here.

Photo0075[1]

Ok, now that you’re feeling a little sorry for me, I’ll tell you . . . we’re going to Thailand 🙂 (From -20F to 90F in one day!) We have a conference there mid-February and we’re taking some vacation time in addition to that. Letter of the week will resume when we get back but in the meantime I’m sure I’ll be posting about some of our adventures in Thailand . . . stay tuned!

5 responses to “U is for Umbrella

  1. mummyshymz says:

    Love the craft work you do. My favourite has to be the cupcake liner umbrellas. So pretty!
    Thailand! The food there is yummy 🙂

  2. Congratulations on the budding reader!! 🙂 Enjoy the vacation! We have friends in Thailand that recently commented a baby elephant was walking down their street. Have a wonderfully “warm” time!!

  3. komnumep says:

    Holy smokes! Thailand!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, too! I’m loving the ideas on this one. When the time comes I’ll definitely be referring back here for some help 🙂

  4. Love this! We are doing U in a couple of weeks and I am shamelessly stealing everything here! Oh and have a great vacation. I am looking forward to the time when we take ours. We’re trying for this summer. Keep your fingers crossed for us!

Leave a Reply

