the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

V is for Valentine

on March 9, 2013

I realize Valentine’s Day was almost a month ago, but we were away on vacation, soooo . . . better late than never, right? Especially when you’re 5 yrs old and it’s your favorite holiday. Kids could care less what the calendar says – as long as you get to make heart shaped cookies and decorate fancy Valentines, it’s all cool.

A realistic parent would have expected the transition from vacation back to school to be a little rough, but I’m pretty optimistic and tend to think of my kids as over-achieving little angels most of the time, so this mom was in for a bit of a surprise when there was whining and even a few tears (OK, buckets of tears) shed over having to do homework that first day back. So my kids are normal – good to know. Turns out that a Veggie Tales fruit snack and Valentine’s glitter heart craft provided just enough incentive for Jorja to write out those 10 spelling words (am I a slave driver or what?).

Jorja's handprint glitter heart

Jorja’s handprint glitter heart

For “table time” I pulled out the Heart-themed File Folder games that I had made for H week . . .

heart pattern matching

heart pattern matching

upper/lower case letter matching

upper/lower case letter matching

heart puzzles

heart puzzles

And then there’s Valentine’s BINGO – a favorite all year round!

Valentine's Day BINGO

Valentine’s Day BINGO

We also got a wonderful Valentine’s Day package in the mail this week that was full craft supplies just perfect for making Valentine’s cards . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

finished products

finished products

I had to google “pipe cleaner crafts” because I have so many pipe cleaners now and I didn’t have the slightest clue what to do with them all. I found this cute heart craft made with pipe cleaners & beads. Here is a picture of the prince & princess working on theirs (they are dressed for the ball which apparently was to take place after craft time! LOL) . . .

making pipe cleaner hearts

making pipe cleaner hearts

finished products

finished products

March 8th is International Women’s Day, and probably the closest thing to Valentine’s Day that the Mongolians celebrate, so it worked out kind of nice . . . we made heart cookies and then took each of the kids’ teachers a plate of cookies and a heart decoration (above).

heart cookies for Women's Day

heart cookies for Women’s Day

Not everything we did this week turned out (and then’s when you remind yourself that it’s more about the process than the finished product – but I’m really honestly more of a finished product kind of girl – just ask my husband!) Anyway, we tried to make vinegar & tissue paper hearts . . . you’re supposed to paint the paper with vinegar, than place the tissue paper on top (so far so good) . . .

vinegar & tissue paper hearts

vinegar & tissue paper hearts

. . . and when it dries, lift off the tissue paper and voila! Except our tissue paper was the non-bleeding kind and it didn’t work. So, I think this would be a really cool craft but if you’re going to try it, make sure you have tissue paper that bleeds 🙂

I didn’t like the verse for V week, so I chose my own: Behold I stand at the door and knock; if anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in. ~ Revelation 3:20. We made this craft to help the kids remember that Jesus is knocking on the door of their hearts.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Explaining to a 3 & 5 yr old what it means to let Jesus in your heart is no easy feat! Since we recently learned about Zacchaeus, I explained how letting Jesus into your heart changes the way you live – the way that Zacchaeus was changed by his encounter with Jesus . . . that Jesus helps us live for God and for others and not just do what we want all the time.  I also explained it as saying YES to Jesus and letting him be our Rescuer (emphasized in The Jesus Storybook Bible) and letting Jesus be the King of your life. I think it was a good start and I’m looking forward to more discussions about this as we continue on our journey . . .

6 responses to “V is for Valentine

  1. Hope you enjoyed the vacation and warmer temps!

    • Thank you! Yes we did enjoy the warmth and also the time together as a family with my in-laws as well. Also, when we got back it was nice to see that things here had thawed a little and while it’s still cold, it’s warm enough to get the kids outside a little and go for walks.

  2. mummyshymz says:

    Welcome back 🙂

  3. Of all the parenting advice I’ve read about or heard about, sharing the gospel with your kids often is the most beneficial for them. Because it brings them to the cross. So thankful that you witness to your kids often! 🙂

Leave a Reply

