the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

St. Patrick’s Day Theme & Crafts

on March 14, 2013

I decided we’d take a break from the usual “letter of the week” theme to focus on St. Patrick’s Day (which meant that I first had to learn a little about the holiday myself!). Since Saint Patrick was a missionary to Ireland, I thought it would the perfect week to focus on missions.

It is said that Saint Patrick used the shamrock to explain the Trinity – like a shamrock has three leaves, God has three persons (Father, Son, and Holy Spirit).  I chose Matthew 28:19 – part of the Great Commission – for our memory verse because it incorporates both the theme of missions and also the Trinity: Go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

For Bible time we read about the very first missionary – Paul. Toward the end of the week, to test their comprehension, I asked the kids, “What happened to Saul on his way to Damascus?” Joseph answered, “He turned into Paul!” . . . as if he transformed into a superhero, like Peter Parker turning into Spiderman or Clark Kent turning into Superman. LOL.

Each day we also talked about various missionaries that we know personally serving in countries all around the world. And most importantly, we talked about how the Great Commission is a command for all believers to share the Good News with everyone – we are all missionaries no matter where we live. I had flashbacks of Sunday school and Family Camp as I tought my kids songs like, “This Little Light of Mine” and “Stop and Let Me Tell You” . . .

Here are some of the St. Patrick’s Day File Folder games & activities we did this week . . . First off, I made a Shamrock Pattern Matching game our of scrapbook paper in all different shades of green.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then I made Shamrock numbers to use for sequencing and fill in the missing number or to use like flashcards and have him call out the number.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Next, I got these wonderful free printables from Life and Learning through Tears and Laughter St. Patrick’s day clip cards (you can see how much fun Joseph is having with these!) and shamrock lacing.

St. Patrick's Day clip cards

St. Patrick’s Day clip cards

shamrock lacing

shamrock lacing

I also found this Shamrock Showdown place value file folder game for Jorja – she enjoyed the challenge of trying to build a bigger number than me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Patrick’s Day BINGO . . . (yes, didn’t you know there is a BINGO for every occasion?!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For crafts, we gave the failed vinegar & tissue paper art from last week another try – this time with shamrocks (I found some green tissue paper that bleeds. Yay, it worked!).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

vinegar & tissue paper shamrocks

vinegar & tissue paper shamrocks

Next up, I showed the kids how to make a shamrock out of hearts. We used a heart-shaped sponge & paint to make these . . .

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another day we made these rainbow & shamrock mobiles. Joseph used do-a-dots for his rainbow, but Jorja preferred to use watercolors . . . I love how they turned out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I saved the best for last – this was everyone’s favorite – rainbow sponge painting! Just put the colors of the rainbow on a sponge, like this:

rainbow sponge painting

rainbow sponge painting

Then brush across the paper to make a rainbow . . . OR swirl all around to mix the colors until you are left with a big brown blob. Either way, it’s fun, FUN, F-U-N!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On St. Patrick’s Day we’re going to do this rainbow scavenger hunt from hands on: as we grow (free printable and instructions – simple & cute!)

rainbow scavenger hunt with clues

rainbow scavenger hunt with clues

And I’m going to attempt to make this Kiwi Lime Pie – wish me luck (if you’ve ever tasted my cooking, you’ll know I need it!)

kiwi lime pie

kiwi lime pie

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

6 responses to “St. Patrick’s Day Theme & Crafts

  1. mummyshymz says:

    My kids would love the rainbow sponge painting!

  2. Love!!! Looks like y’all had a great time!! 🙂 I wish I’d seen your post before mine! Glad I still have time to do some of these! 🙂 FUN!

  3. momto3sugars says:

    I am a preschool teacher of one and two year olds… these crafts you posted are GREAT!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!

  4. So much fun!! I’m borrowing the scavenger hunt idea too!! Thanks!

  5. How much fun you seem to have at your house! I wish I could do preschool over with my kids and just follow what you’re doing. Well done!

  6. Jordan Mogck says:

    Awesome post, Terri!

Leave a Reply

