the learning house

where everyone (especially me!) is learning . . .

Signs of Spring

on May 10, 2013

This week’s theme was Signs of Spring. I don’t know why, but I need a theme and since we are all out of letters, this is what I came up with πŸ™‚

So at the beginning of the week we went on a nature walk to look for signs of spring. Even though we pretty much visited our usual stomping grounds, call it a ‘nature walk’ and the kid get very excited! Some of our observations included green grass where there was none just a week ago, buds on tree branches, lots of ants, bees, butterflies, birds chirping, dandelions, and buttercups.

Photo0121[1]

When we got back home I asked the kids to draw a picture showing the various signs of spring that they had observed. (The scribbles in the top right corner are not a failed attempt at writing a name – they are music notes which represent the birds chirping.)

signs of spring that we saw on our nature walk

signs of spring that we saw on our nature walk

We also made these Spring is Here pictures with foam stickers.

spring is here!

spring is here!

We didn’t do very many crafts this week because I couldn’t resist taking the kids outside to play for hours and soak up some sun (and Vitamin D!) each afternoon. But even while we were playing outside, the teacher in me couldn’t resist creating some educational games using sidewalk chalk. For Jorja I made a sidewalk chalk math game. I drew a flower and wrote the numbers 1-10 in each petal. I would say a simple math equation (like 5+2 or 3+3) and she had to hop to the right answer.

sidewalk chalk math

sidewalk chalk math

Photo0126[1]

For Joseph I made a sidewalk chalk reading game. I drew a flower (in case you hadn’t guessed, that’s about the only thing I can draw!) and wrote “at” in the center, then put “at” words (mat, rat, hat, etc.) in the petals. He had to hop to whichever word I called out.

sidewalk chalk reading game

sidewalk chalk reading game

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some Mongolian kids were watching us with fascination and I wondered if they thought we were weird or something, but when we were finished they started playing our game and practicing their English! I couldn’t resist taking a picture πŸ™‚

Photo0129[1]

We had a really great week enjoying the warmth and beauty of Spring.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

2 responses to “Signs of Spring

  1. Perfect! I love to do school outside whenever possible!

  2. I have often wondered about your weather there! Can’t wait to follow along and read more! What a great experience with your game!! I love it! Also, I really liked your ‘reflections’ post. I need to step back and reflect myself. Thanks for the reminder and for letting us peek at your sweet mommy thoughts. Love your blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

